Experienced Salem Criminal Defense Lawyer Fights the Charges Against You
Virginia attorney protects the rights of clients facing criminal allegations
No matter how seemingly minor, all criminal charges demand a strong defense. The decisions made in these cases can affect the rest of your life. At Samuel J. Lazzaro, P.C., Attorney & Counselor at Law in Salem, I provide experienced, ethical representation across the Roanoke Valley for clients facing a range of criminal charges, including DWI, traffic offenses, domestic violence, and all manner of felony and misdemeanor counts. When your freedom and future are on the line, you need immediate help from a skilled defense lawyer who will fight for your rights. I know the laws and courts of Virginia and am ready to provide the representation you deserve no matter what charges you face.
Diligent defense for DUI charges
Virginia penalizes drivers convicted of driving under the influence, or DUI, severely. Even a first-offense conviction carries a mandatory minimum fine of $250 and the loss of your license for one year. Subsequent offenses and DUIs involving injuries carry even greater penalties. That’s why if you’ve been charged with a DUI in the Roanoke Valley, you need the assistance of an experienced defense attorney to navigate these troubled waters. I concentrate on delivering the best possible outcome by knowing all the details of your situation and how the laws pertain to your specific charges. I help relieve some of the stress and trauma of a DUI charge by fully explaining the Virginia laws pertaining to:
- Blood alcohol content — Virginia Code section 18.2-266 states a driver can be charged with DUI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above 0.08 percent. And if your driving is affected because you are under the influence of any drug, you face the same penalties.
- Standard Field Sobriety Tests (SFSTs) —The sobriety tests that police use to determine if a driver is under the influence can be flawed, or police can break protocol when administering or delivering the test. Often, prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines can alter the results of a field sobriety test. My firm makes sure that any test you were subjected to was done legally, accurately and in accordance with your rights, or I will challenge the procedures or results.
- Administrative license suspension (ALS) — When you’re stopped for DUI, your license is automatically suspended for seven days if your BAC measures .08 percent or above during a breath test. The same penalty applies if you refuse to take a breath test. If you face a second DUI offense or refuse a breath test for the second time, the suspension is 60 days.
If you’re convicted of a second DUI within ten years of the first, you must pay a mandatory minimum $500 fine, will have your license revoked for three years and may face a jail term of up to one year. There is a great deal at stake when it comes to DUI charges in the commonwealth, but I have the skill and tenacity to fight them and give you the best possible chance of a positive result.
Strong advocacy for clients charged with misdemeanors and felonies
My firm handles a full range of Virginia felony and misdemeanor matters. State law includes six classes of felonies with punishments that increase in severity until Class 1, which covers premeditated murder. For Class 2 felonies such as kidnapping and aggravated malicious wounding, the maximum sentence is life in prison. Certain crimes, including battery and selling stolen property, can be classified as either a felony or a misdemeanor. Misdemeanor convictions, under Virginia law, carry a maximum jail term of 12 months. No matter what charges you face, I fight for the best possible outcome under the facts of your case, fair charging decisions, and alternatives to incarceration whenever appropriate.
Skilled legal counsel for Virginia domestic violence allegations
A domestic violence charge alone has serious repercussions, but a conviction can lead to fines, jail time, and a ruined reputation. Domestic assault on a current or former spouse or household or family member is a Class I misdemeanor in Virginia, leading to one year of incarceration, fines of up to $2,500 or both. Domestic assault doesn’t have to involve physical harm or injury — it may involve only a push, shove, or grab. A conviction on your permanent record can make it difficult to keep your job or find a new one, and getting a home loan or even renting a home can become nearly impossible. If you face domestic assault charges in Virginia, it’s important to seek skilled legal help as soon as possible. Many times, these charges are exaggerated or even untrue, and the police can arrive too late to determine the full facts of the case. I will challenge the charge against you to protect your rights and reputation.
Contact a knowledgeable Salem criminal defense lawyer for a free consultation
When you’ve been charged with a crime, you need immediate help from a skilled defense lawyer. At Samuel J. Lazzaro, P.C., Attorney & Counselor at Law, I offered experienced advocacy to Virginians facing criminal charges in Salem and throughout the Roanoke Valley and a strong defense at each stage of the legal process. Call me at 540-404-5685 or contact me online for a free consultation.